November 3, 2008

How to Write When Happy?

Posted in Uncategorized at 1:25 am by LG

Turns out, I write the most (and perhaps the best) when I am struggling with the world and my place in it.  That’s why I’ve been gone for a while: I’M SO HAPPY.  On some level, I guess I wish I had more time to be depressed….to think about meaning and suffering and purpose, and then put my thoughts into words.  But, between a job that I love and a city that I’m enjoying exploring, I just can’t seem to find the time.  And now that I’ve forced myself to sit and write (after all, we gained an hour today), I can think of nothing more than to say, Hello World, Thank you for the beautiful day today!

I know, puke, right?  I’m sure it’ll change soon and I’ll be heartbroken, or forlorn, or in some state of malaise, during which I’ll have lots to say…. but for now, I’m gonna enjoy being happy.  Just happy.

I think I’ve also been avoiding the blog because I’ve made a firm decision not to talk about work.  At all.  Ever.  And seeing that I’m spending the majority of my waking hours there, it’s hard to get focused on much else.  But, I’m starting to settle in more, and I think as I embark on LA adventures, I’ll have plenty of writing opportunities.  So, please forgive my absence, and stay tuned for updates on life in LA.

Just to give you a general sense, my day looks something like this:

I wake up around 5:30 and go to the gym.  (This is on a perfect day, of course… a day when I’m choosing to be a disciplined adult and not a child who presses snooze 12 times… Admittedly, I’m more often a child).  The gym is a VERY interesting place.  It’s in hollywood.  People watching at its finest.  I went to a group fitness class one day and could have sworn I walked onto the set of Chorus Line.  People were warming up with high kicks and triple chasses.  The guys all looked like they walked out of calvin klein ads and, of course, the girls next to my spot on the floor were clearly doubles for Beyonce and Heidi Klum.  I almost left once the music started, the disco ball dropped from the ceiling and begin rotating, and the instructor shouted “five, six….five, six, seven, eight.”  But the fly girl in me couldn’t resist, and I was caught up in no time.  (and I worked extra ’cause I’ll be damned if miss shakira-look-alike does more push ups than me!)

Anyhow, I’ve slowed down a bit in the mornings, and am now taking a yoga class.  The instructor is like the Bob Ross of Yoga.  Everything is “beautiful” and “happy.”  It suits me for the time being.

I head back home, where I shower, listen to NPR, put a suit on (yuck), pack my heals in my briefcase, and start walking to the metro in more comfortable shoes.  I love this walk in the morning.  I pass the shopkeepers opening up for the day, the homeless people on my street, the Los Feliz newspaper stand, and lots of other people gearing up for the day, which is still so full of possibilties.  I decend into the metro station and jump on my train heading toward downtown.  I read the paper, or a book, or – most frequently – talk to or stare at people on the train.

I arrive downtown, grab a cup of joe at the coffee stand, and head into a job that I’m crazy about.

I’ve just realized that this is most boring blog in the history of blogs.  So I’m just going to stop and write more later when I actually have something to say.

10 Comments »

  1. Tiffany said,

    You’re absolutely wrong—you had SO MUCH to say! I loved your entry, and the reflections in it. It’s such a pleasure to read about you in a happy place and to see your day through your eyes. Let’s not forget some of your readers, who, like me, get up and drive an hour through corn fields and pastures to arrive at work in a “quiet peaceful village” where we may love our jobs, but we’ve been doing them for nearly 10 years now! It’s nice every once and a while to take a trip somewhere else, and reading your blog (to me) is like a little adventure. Thanks for sharing!

  2. T-minus 24 days and counting…then you’ll have something to write about. Although, like your job, that weekend may also have to be censored.

    Love you, miss you and see you soon for some LA style tofurkey and avacado stuffing.

    Maybe a joint blog will be in order that weekend? I’ve been kinda in a rut.

  3. Laurie said,

    i am so glad your back…i missed ya.

  4. Sherri said,

    I am so happy to hear/read that things are going so well, and I agree with Tiff…definitely not boring. It is nice to hear that you are enjoying your life in LA and that is was the right decision for you. I look forward to hearing about more adventures/explorations of LA…I need a little excitement.

  5. Jen said,

    Yay! I’m so glad things are going well! I certainly miss you here as I struggle (and largely fail) to keep the book club together, but at least I know you’re loving where you are. Keep up the happy posts!

  6. Emily said,

    You know what I AM SO HAPPY THAT YOU ARE SO HAPPY~! You deserve it more than most people in this world.
    Your post may have been boring to you, but it was wonderful to me. My heart is warm knowing yours is happy.
    Puke, right? Go right ahead, I am a fully affirmed cheeseball.
    You SO DESERVE HAPPINESS, now go out there and get em, ALL of em.
    With my love,
    Emily
    PS. Your pics from your going away party, you looked Hollywood glam, seriously, you can give those models and actresses a good run (or high kick) for their money.
    I love you tons LG.

  7. Anonymous said,

    Aiya not hiya

  8. Jill said,

    I have followed your blog for a while now, I found you through Where in the World… I wanted to delurk to say that I am so happy to hear that you are doing so well! You deserve every ounce of happiness and I hope life continues to treat you well in every way! Take good care of yourself and continue to enjoy your new home!

  9. Tricia said,

    Just read the first few lines… gonna save the rest for later. But I couldn’t wait to say – I”M SO GLAD YOU’RE HAPPY! Yey. I was eager to hear how life there was treating ya.

  10. Sasha said,

    Hey girl! It is so great to catch up on what is going on with you. sounds like things are going wonderful for you in LA–that is awesome! I’m so glad that you are happy and enjoying the city life. It all sounds so glam to me–going to the gym in hollywood, going to work on the metro, etc. How great! I totally agree with Tif–my excitement in the morning is passing an Amish buggy on the way to work! 🙂
    take care!
    Love,
    Sasha


Leave a comment